Fat is generally considered unhealthy or dangerous in the food groups, but that’s not completely true. Our body requires fats to function properly. You should keep in mind that not all fats are created equal. Some fats are healthy. If you are the one who banishes fats from the plate then read the blog to learn why fat is essential and its role.

Fats are divided into four different types

  • Monounsaturated fats
  • Polyunsaturated fats
  • Saturated fats
  • Trans fats

Every type of fat is formed slightly differently. Saturated fats contain a chemical composition allowing them to harden easily. Unsaturated fats are formed to keep the liquid at room temperature. Butter and bacon grease are known as saturated fats and olive oil is known as unsaturated fats. Differences in the chemical composition of fats are based on the various health effects. Small amounts of fat don’t harm you but consuming large amounts of saturated or trans fats may cause health issues.

Dietary fat—fat contained in foods and drinks— is important for several body processes. Fat helps certain vitamins across the body and helps form hormones.


Cheese is rich in nutrients, calcium, vitamin B12, phosphorus, and selenium. It is one of the food items that contain high fats, likely to increase the risk of heart disease compared with less fat-dairy.


A unique fruit avocado is packed with carbs and fats. 80% of avocado contains fat. It is one of the fruits with higher fat than animal foods. It also has rich sources of potassium in the diet. A study showed that consumption of avocado regularly for 5 weeks can provide positive effects on people with cholesterol. Avocado is known for maintaining heart health and weight management benefits.

Fatty Fish

Fatty fish is known as one of the most nutritious animal proteins including fish—salmon, trout, mackerel, sardines, and herring. They are filled with heart-healthy omega-3 fatty acids, high-quality proteins, vitamins, and minerals. Fatty fish help improves cognitive function, help regulate blood sugar levels, and decrease heart disease risk.

Whole Eggs

Whole eggs are nutrient-dense, filled with vitamins and minerals. Eggs are considered weight-loss-friendly food, the best sources of protein, which help make you feel fuller for a longer time to avoid overeating. 

Dark Chocolate

Dark chocolate can be a healthy addition to any diet, as it is packed with fat—60% calories. It also contains fiber and many nutrients—iron and magnesium. Pick dark chocolate with around 70% cocoa because other varieties may contain high amounts of added sugar and are lower in nutrients and antioxidants.


Nuts are packed with healthy fats and fiber. They contain plant-based sources of protein. Opt for almonds, pistachios, walnuts, peanuts, and hazelnuts that are known for containing a great source of nutrients—protein, fat, fiber, vitamins, and minerals. Studies proved that nuts may reduce the risk of developing cardiovascular disease or coronary heart disease.